Zimbabwean novelist Tsitsi Dangarembga among this year’s Windham-Campbell prize winners

Dangarembga, American writer Margo Jefferson and British playwright Winsome Pinnock are among eight recipients of the $165,000 grants, as the award marks its 10th anniversary

Pulitzer prizewinning Margo Jefferson, playwright Winsome Pinnock and acclaimed novelist Tsitsi Dangarembga are among this year’s recipients of the $165,000 (£120,000) Windham-Campbell prizes.

The award, which is one of the world’s richest, is now in its 10th year. For the past decade it has celebrated eight writers each year for their achievements in fiction, non fiction, poetry and drama. The large grants given to winners are intended “to support their writing and allow them to focus on their work independent of financial concerns”.

Continue reading...


‘Surreal fable’ by Derek Jarman to be published for the first time

The 10,000-word story about a blind young king and his valet will be released this autumn along with...

Read More >

Authors at Hay festival weigh the meaning of authenticity

Who can write about whom was a running question, tackled by writers from Rose Tremain to Damon Galgu...

Read More >

Elif Shafak: there’s a scream building up in young people

Author cites Brexit and the climate crisis as examples of previous generations ‘breaking’ their fu...

Read More >

Joanne Harris says she saw her cancer as a fictional ‘monster’ she could ‘destroy’

The Chocolat author was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2020 and has shared her experiences on socia...

Read More >

Anthony Horowitz: I’m still waiting to see benefit of Brexit

Author who has previously called himself a Conservative tells Hay festival he ‘can’t understand’ ...

Read More >

Deborah James’s second and final book tops Amazon chart ahead of publication

The columnist and podcaster’s How to Live When You Could Be Dead is out in August heads the bestsel...

Read More >