Beta
X

Bookface Blog

RSS
Archive by category: BookshopReturn
Apr 08, 2020

As we all continue to spend a lot more time indoors than we are used to, it is crucial that we maintain our physical and mental fitness. Fortunately, Dr Rangan Chatterjee is on hand to provide some simple, accessible tips to keep our bodies and minds in shape. 

Read More
Apr 08, 2020

Your chance to hear authors going beyond the book to talk about the themes and ideas that obsess us all.

Read More
Apr 06, 2020

Wendy Moore, the author of the magnificent Endell Street, pays tribute to the pioneering work and undying dedication of the female medics who, during the First World War, transformed a derelict old London workhouse into a state-of-the-art military hospital, operated by predominantly female staff.

In this exclusive essay, Moore talks about her experience of researching and writing the incredible story of two pioneering suffragette doctors – and lifelong companions – Flora Murray and Louisa Garrett Anderson, who operated on the frontline of their profession.

Read More
Apr 06, 2020

One of the year’s most exciting YA fiction releases and a must for fans of Pretty Little Liars and One Of Us Is Lying, The Magpie Society: One for Sorrow is an unmissable high-stakes, high school thriller. The first in a series and promising a tantalising combination of clique rivalry, murder, mystery and secret-society intrigue, it’s not to be missed. Read an exclusive extract here.

Read More
Mar 30, 2020

One of the year's most eagerly anticipated non-fiction books, Dark Salt Clear recounts Lamorna Ash's return to Newlyn in Cornwall and how time and circumstance have wrought change to the coastal town whilst preserving many of its traditional practices. In this exclusive essay, Lamorna discusses her motivation for writing the book and how the richly evocative narrative threads came together.

Read More
Mar 30, 2020

The Beatles are so much a part of the national fabric that we are in danger of taking their astounding achievements for granted. Just how did John, Paul, George and Ringo manage to elevate pop music into an enduring art form and why do we remember them with such reverence and love in the twenty-first century? In this exclusive essay, Craig Brown, author of One Two Three Four: The Beatles in Time, offers his compelling explanation.  

Read More
Mar 27, 2020

Following up his explosive domestic thriller A Version of the Truth with the eerie, atmospheric Hold Your Breath, B.P. Walter is fast making a name for himself as an exciting new voice in crime fiction. Below, Walter outlines the novels that inspired the writing of his latest book and the literary references that pervade the text.

Read More
Mar 27, 2020

Sparkling and utterly original, Frances Cha's If I Had Your Face provides a surgical overview of the complex social hierarchies and the absurd beauty standards in modern day Seoul. Read the first chapter exclusively here.

Read More
Mar 27, 2020

Your chance to hear authors going beyond the book to talk about the themes and ideas that obsess us all.

Read More
Mar 26, 2020

During difficult times it is always important to try and retain a sense of humour and Beth O'Leary's wonderfully escapist novels, The Flatshare and The Switch, provide plenty of belly-laughs alongside many heartwarming romantic moments. Below, Beth selects her favourite literary comedies bursting with love and optimism.  

Read More
Mar 25, 2020

With children across the country spending nearly all their time indoors, it is more important than ever to have plenty of great reads to distract them. Below is our selection of the very best book bounty that April has to offer from pre-schoolers to young adults.

Please Note: Due to the current Coronavirus pandemic, publication dates are liable to change at short notice. All publication dates were correct at the time this blog went live.

Read More
Mar 25, 2020

A Waterstones Book of the Year nominee and now the Waterstones Book of the Month for April, Max Porter's Lanny is a lyrical masterpiece from one of the country's very finest prose stylists. In this exclusive essay, Max examines literature's unique place in the cultural ecosystem and highlights some other authors and works which share his incredible visionary tone. 

Read More
Mar 25, 2020

Andrew Taylor is one of the most accomplished writers of historical crime fiction working today. His Marwood and Lovett novels have garnered both remarkable sales and great critical acclaim, and the fourth installment, The Last Protector, is published this month. In this exclusive essay, Taylor discusses the Bawdy House Riots, which play a pivotal role in the compelling plot.    

Read More
Mar 23, 2020

Your chance to hear authors going beyond the book to talk about the themes and ideas that obsess us all.

Read More
Mar 19, 2020

It is probably safe to say that few of us predicted an April quite like this one. Many of us now have considerably more time on our hands than we expected to have, whilst our options of where to spend it have become drastically limited. Fortunately, April also sees some terrific new books being published, from the welcome return of Anne Tyler to the debut novel from Robert Webb, and from a dazzlingly unique history of The Beatles to sound advice for tough times from Ollie Ollerton. Stay safe everybody, and keep reading.   

Please Note: Due to the current Coronavirus pandemic, publication dates are liable to change at short notice. All publication dates were correct at the time this blog went live. 

Read More
Mar 16, 2020

Appeasing Hitler, Tim Bouverie's acclaimed account of appeasement in the 1930s, presents a balanced, engrossing analysis of the tragic misunderstandings and misreadings that paved the path to war. In this exclusive essay, Bouverie reflects on the lessons that have (or have not) been learned from the actions of Neville Chamberlain and others, and whether or not appeasement is ever a valid course of action. 

Read More
Mar 13, 2020

Sarah Vaughan has already bestridden the bestseller lists with An Anatomy of a Scandal and now she returns with Little Disasters, a chilling psychological drama about the challenges of motherhood. In this exclusive piece, Sarah highlights her favourite malicious, malevolent and muddle-headed mothers in literature. 

Read More
Mar 11, 2020

A truly revolutionary cookbook set to transform the dining experiences of cancer sufferers, Ryan Riley’s inspiring recipe guide contains dishes specifically geared to those whose taste-buds have been dulled by chemotherapy and other medical treatments. Incorporating cutting edge medical science and highly nuanced work around texture and the senses, The Life Kitchen is a remarkable achievement of enlightened gastronomy. In this recipe, Ryan shows us how to prepare a mouth-watering Parmesan cod with salt and vinegar cucumber.

Read More
Mar 06, 2020

This International Women's Day Bernardine Evaristo, Booker-scooping author of Girl, Woman, Other, unveiled her personal selection of great books by Black British womxn. Conceived as part of Bristol Literary Takeover, and spearheaded by the organisation Words of Colour, the list was announced at the Waterstones shop in Bristol Galleries. Ranging across fiction, poetry, politics, cultural history and children's books, Bernardine's selection is a definitive guide to the very best writing by Black British womxn.  

Read More
Mar 05, 2020

A remarkable piece of literary detective work, House of Glass details the lives of Hadley Freeman’s grandmother and her siblings across the globe and through a turbulent twentieth century. Pieced together from a box of family mementoes and journals, this thoroughly involving history is a kaleidoscopic journey from euphoria to tragedy and back again. In this exclusive essay, Hadley describes the sensation of writing such an intensely personal work. 

Read More
Mar 05, 2020

Adele Parks, author of the compelling new thriller Just My Luck, has written about many different aspects of motherhood in her bestselling novels. Here she provides 20 great quotes from her work that touch on the maternal instinct. 

Read More
Mar 03, 2020

Your chance to hear authors going beyond the book to talk about the themes and ideas that obsess us all.

Read More
Feb 28, 2020

Dominique Valente's Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day is a hilarious fantasy romp for all children with a sense of humour as well as a sense of adventure. The novel, our Children's Book of the Month for March, features some unusual creations, from cloud dragons to bashful trolls to broomsticks with a mind of their own, and in this exclusive piece, Dominique runs through her favourite magical creatures in fiction.  

Read More
Feb 26, 2020

The publication of The Mirror & the Light, the majestic conclusion to Hilary Mantel's groundbreaking Wolf Hall trilogy, is undoubtedly the literary event of the year. If you require a refresher on the story so far before immersing yourself in the richly evoked world of the Tudor court once more, who better than Hilary Mantel herself to bring you up to speed?  

Read More
Feb 07, 2020

Thursday 5 March sees one of the biggest publications for many a year, as Hilary Mantel's The Mirror & the Light is released into the world. But, much as anticipation is at fever pitch for the conclusion of the celebrated Thomas Cromwell trilogy, that should not distract from other superb books emerging in the same month. Indeed, with more immersive historical fiction from Maggie O'Farrell and Jane Healey, blockbuster fantasy from Sarah J. Maas and a fascinating document of life in the Thunberg household, March is a bumper month for hotly anticipated publishing.  

Read More
Page 1 of 2 FirstPrevious [1]

Search